1985

We were ranging from ages 15-19, when my siblings and I migrated from Jamaica. 1985 was the year things changed for my family in many ways. How my mother maneuvered four teenagers at that time still baffles me, but she did. Fast forward to present day. Celebrations of 50th birthdays seems to be the highlight of gatherings these days. Since December 2016, I have been a part of a few 50th birthday celebrations.  Its started with a highschool friend , and then one of my very own siblings also joined the elite group. The celebrations just seem to keep on going. This weekend May 6 &7, I was invited to two more “Fabulously Fifty” celebrations. One of the celebrants was another of my highschool friend

The year 1985 seemed to have been a big wave for immigration from the carribean in general,  at least for the people I  know turning 50. Schoolmates , acquaintances , friends  and family. My son said it should have been dubbed,  “immigration of 85″.😀 As I arrived at school in September 1985, I met people from all corners of the world who has just migrated within that year and some merly months or even weeks apart. A group of us connected then and have stuck it out throughout the years . Here we are and have come again together to celebrate, life and friendships.

Turning 50, was usually a dreaded moment  with sad tears and sometimes feeling depressed. But going to these parties,  I realise how celebrants are showing appreciation for turning 50. They are high on life and they certainly do look Fabulous. Forty is looking more like “the new 30″as I have been hearing quite often. People seem to have this heightened sense of self awarenes. They are full of energy, full of life. Its almost as if they are glowing. It is so infectious. I am not quite there yet, but close enough. I must admit I have been one of those people who, in the past,  dreaded the thought of becoming 50. As I matured though, I have a more appreciative mindset, seeing it more like priveledge and a sense of  gratitude . So with God’s grace when I get there I will welcome it with open arms.  Whatever reservations I may have had, being around these people have changed that. Whatever the journey, good or bad, the 50th boat has docked for many and it is heading my way.

So to those of you who have arrived at the 50th train station.. keep the trains on track as the rest of us is still on the way. 😀

Blessed 50th


Leave a Reply

